If I ever figure out a name for this post…

I haven’t been writing on this blog from ages. I honestly can’t tell why but I think I can sort of tell too. I restrict myself. An inner dialogue. Write every week. Write about makeup. Write one or twice a month. You don’t have to restrict yourself to makeup. It’s honestly not about the lack of new topics or ideas to write about. Its about this inner dialogue that I end up writing all together. I sometimes ask myself if this is me doubting myself or fearing people’s judgement? I don’t know. I just know that writing is something i honestly love and this blog is something I really love.

I recently came across this post on tumblr:Screenshot (161)

And i felt like I could relate to it so well. I miss reading books and no matter how much I try reading books now, it’s just not the same. I wonder why. I used to be the person who bought books to read for fun when I was done with any kind of academic exams. I feel like blaming my phone for this. Is it the reason my attention span is like goldfish’s memory now? the constant scrolling?

I still have a few books on my shelf which I bought just to remind myself that I am a person who loves books and I DO love books. It’s just that I don;t read many now. I don’t know if this will work but I have a few books that i haven’t read and I’m forcing myself to read a few pages daily. Because yes, I miss what it is like to get lost in the written word.

Some of the books still lying unread on my shelf are Casual Vacancy by J.K Rowling, Divergent, Blink, First things first, Girl boss and How to make Friends and influence people. I don’t think I’ll read all of them. But i have started reading How to make friends and influence people. I love Dale Carnegie’s work so I think this book is a good start.

Think I should go read it now. Thanks for stopping by.

2 thoughts on “If I ever figure out a name for this post…

  1. S. M. M. Raza says:

    I think that the advent of these e-books and e-readers might have marred the satisfaction of a good read. I’m not against the technology, don’t take me wrong, but the last two books I read on the nook and my iPad, practically destroyed the sense of fulfillment I get after finishing a book. The e-readers are very handy and can be taken any where, and with the might of their memory, one can have a mini-library in his bag. This does help a lot in a busy schedule but for me, I believe, the crisp feel of paper and the smell of a new book coupled with a good literary piece can lead to wondrous joy and contentment.

    – S. M. M. Raza

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

